I Disappeared

We were almost home, after 4.5 months we were finally done.

I went through what was supposed to be my last week in Nicaragua. It felt like forever, but I felt like I did a good job being patient.

I went to the US embassy on Friday, not worried at all. We would do the visa interview, and three days later, they would issue the visa. I was done. I was so relieved.

Except.. they didn’t.

As the consular explained to me that they wanted extra documentation.. and that they would not issue the visa until we could produce it, there was no air in the room to breathe. And I disappeared.

I didn’t look at social media or email for days. I couldn’t, I’m sorry. I think I got to the point where I could only manage to focus on the world I’m currently in – perpetually in Nicaragua, not trying to juggle multiple lives and countries.

Yesterday I spoke with our agency in the US, and they helped me to understand what is happening. The US government is putting up a lot of obstacles to legal immigration right now, and making it very difficult for international embassies to approve visas. Even for a child who has been officially and legally adopted by a US citizen.

I have a lawyer and the Nicaraguan ministry of family working on our behalf right now, and David is contacting senators and congresspeople in the US.

Other than that, all we can do is wait. Again.

Leave a Reply

